Skip to content

The Inaugural Post…

May 17, 2009

find-the-grad-student

After scouring the Internet for blogs that would allow me a glimpse into the daily life of a grad student, I was quite dismayed to find that there were hardly any to be found – well, either that or my google search skills need some fine tuning.  Thus, I decided that since there was a lack of blogs with a direct focus on grad life floating around the Internet, I would take things into my own hands and create my own.  So with that said, welcome to @HigherLearning.

There are basically two things that I want to achieve with @HigherLearning.  The first is to share with you all my experiences as a future (and in about three months time, a current) grad student.  My hope is that those who are interested in grad school will gain better insight on their possible future as a grad student through my first-hand experiences, and that those who are currently in/or have completed grad school will be able to relate to them.  The second reason I created this blog is mainly for self-purposes, as I think it would be interesting to document my progress as a grad student.

Aside from this, I will be enrolling in Awesome University in the Fall as a M.HSc candidate, specializing in Health Promotion.

Anyway, keep reading and I’ll keep writing (comments also make my heart flutter).

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 3:34 AM

    hello gorgeous. fabulous job with starting up this blog. should be really helpful… i’m gonna be asking you a lot of survival questions lol

  2. May 17, 2009 3:42 AM

    Grad school? Smart people don’t need extra years of school.

  3. derek permalink
    May 17, 2009 2:31 PM

    uh oh.

  4. ceci permalink
    May 17, 2009 6:01 PM

    Health Promotion? Cool. Looking forward to see how your journey goes. 🙂

  5. May 17, 2009 7:59 PM

    Awesome University, eh? Well, I’m happy this page has an RSS feed. Is it too late to feed you all my best grad school horror stories?

    • athigherlearning permalink*
      May 17, 2009 8:05 PM

      Yes AWESOME U. Haha. I’m still not sure how wordpress works… it seems quite complicated. But once i figure it out, sure?

      • May 18, 2009 12:18 AM

        Haha, that was feed as in “spoon feed”, not feed as in “some technological method of zapping my stories to you” – i.e. now that you’ve already been accepted to grad school and are committed to going there is it too late to tell you all the horror stories about it.

        Awesome U reminds me of those Algoma ads they used to have on the TTC sporting “Colossal U.”

        • athigherlearning permalink*
          May 18, 2009 11:54 PM

          I welcome horror stories. They prepare me. I laugh at fear’s face. MUAHAHA. Okay, not really… but I’d still like to hear them, although i think MD school stories will probably be different?

          • May 18, 2009 11:59 PM

            Well, I think you’re already privy to all the best med stories; but my sister did grad school out West and had plenty of stories to tell.

            Btw, CSS is amazing – although newfangled contraptions like CSS and PHP also completely bamboozle me, so I understand the frustration.

      • Sung permalink
        May 18, 2009 1:02 AM

        Wow… There are threaded replies here. WordPress FTW!

        • athigherlearning permalink*
          May 18, 2009 11:55 PM

          I hate wordpress. What is this CSS? It also took me 20mins to figure out how to post a picture. I need to read the wordpress manual or something.

  6. May 17, 2009 10:01 PM

    your google skills fail you. which may be a foreshadowing of how well or how bad you will be as a grad student.

    you have been rss-ed.

Leave a Reply

