Skip to content

House-hunting…

May 18, 2009

house-hunting

House-hunting is exhausting.  Thankfully, I only had to go through one house-hunt while I was an undergrad (of course, this was accompanied with visiting several questionable houses and a meeting with a sketchy landlord who resembled an Oompa Loompa before finding suitable housing).  But since Awesome University is located in another city from Undergrad U and commuting from home is not an option, the search for a new house begins.

The difference between house-hunting as an undergrad vs. a grad student is that by the time house-hunting rolls around in second-year of undergrad, you already have a fairly good grasp of where you’d enjoy living and places where the likelihood of getting jumped is high.  Unfortunately, this tends to not be the case for a grad student heading to a new university that’s located in an unfamiliar city – which is the predicament that I fall into.

The last time I went on a campus tour of Awesome University was four years ago when I was deciding where to go for undergrad, and all that I remember from the visit was that the campus seemed huge.  Sadly, this doesn’t really help in terms of searching for housing.  The good news, however, is that I won’t be alone in this house-hunt, as I will be living with R, a friend from high school.

After submitting individual applications to Grad Rez (our ideal choice), we started browsing though Awesome University’s Off-Campus Housing Listings.  Several searches later, we stumbled upon one attractive prospect.  Relatively cheap-rent, utilities and cable included, furnished living-room, 2 parking spots and most importantly, it was practically on campus.  It sounded too good to be true.  I mean, how could no one have snatched up this house already?  There must be something wrong with it.  Perhaps it was owned by another sketchy Oompa Loompa-looking landlord?  Anyway, a visit to the house has been arranged and how great this house truly is will soon be determined…

To be continued…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 8:06 PM

    tamantha, if only you realized that the masters’ experience is no different than the undergrad experience then you wouldnt have made this blog. although i must say, wordpress is better, so good work!

    • athigherlearning permalink*
      May 20, 2009 1:08 AM

      It’s the same? But i’ll have less class and more thesis time! And finally be able to go to the school’s grad club legitimately. WordPress also sucks. I can’t use it properly.

  2. May 19, 2009 10:07 PM

    I hope you haven’t yet forgotten my story of Grad Rez shenanigans… although I’m sure things will be different at Awesome U. By they way, I was totally confused by the whole “visit to the house has been arranged” – I think I got my wires crossed and confused your amazing jealousy-inducing summer getaway with the actual location of Awesome U. That would have been awesome indeed.

    • athigherlearning permalink*
      May 20, 2009 1:10 AM

      If Awesome U was located where I am headed for my summer getaway, it would be renamed Totally Awesome U. Unfortunately, I’m still stuck in this country.

Leave a Reply

