Skip to content

Hitting on your TA?

May 20, 2009

phd0130As part of my funding package, I was offered either a RA (Research Assistant) or TA (Teaching Assistant) position.  When I mentioned the possibility of being a TA to one of my friends, she jokingly replied that I should be prepared to be “hit on” by the guys in my tutorials.  I laughed and told this to my mom, who then told it to my dad, who misunderstood the conversation:

Mom:  So Tammy’s friend told her that when Tammy becomes a TA, boys in her tutorial will “hit on her”.

Dad:  What do you mean “hit on?”  Tammy, don’t let people in the class bully you, okay?

In any case, the chance of a student “hitting on” me is highly unlikely, considering how the makeup of the undergrad program is probably 98% female.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. chokan permalink
    May 20, 2009 10:19 AM

    HAHAHA jokes.

  2. May 20, 2009 5:00 PM

    2% of X is still a lot. esply more so when X is a huge number.

    • athigherlearning permalink*
      May 21, 2009 2:12 AM

      hahaha. what an optimist you are. =P

  3. May 20, 2009 6:31 PM

    Silly parents. I had a gorgeous TA once – every guy I spoke to knew who she was even though they a) weren’t in her group and b) she only taught us two tutorials. I don’t think anybody had the guts to hit on her though.

    I’d like to note though that I’m sure that a 98% female population does not preclude you being hit on.

    • athigherlearning permalink*
      May 21, 2009 2:15 AM

      I remember that when i took anat 101 in third year, during TA evaluations a lot of the girls in my class wrote that “what the liked about the TA” was when he flexed his biceps when demonstrating muscle movements. I thought that was hilarious.

Leave a Reply

