Skip to content

Frustration Looms…

June 1, 2009

It’s getting frustrating, looking for a house.  Mainly because 1) we still haven’t found one and 2) I’m leaving the country in about three weeks for a month and a half.

The first major dilemma is that notification on whether R and I will have been selected for grad residence won’t be released until the day before I leave, which means that in the event that we don’t get grad rez, I won’t be in town to look at housing in person.

The second dilemma is that I’m getting the feeling that R isn’t as “gung ho” about living in residence as she was before.  This sucks, because I still am.  After three years of living more than 20 minutes away from the edge of campus (30 minutes, in the winter), I am done with living far away from school.  Also considering how Awesome University is situated in the middle of a snowbelt, it’s supposedly home to some Unawesome Winters – and if there are two things that I dislike, it’s walking far distances and walking far distances in the snow.

So what was supposed to be an exciting time is now beginning to become one of frustration and nervousness.  Perhaps, this all can be attributed to cold-feet.  Moving in with one of my closest friends whom I’ve known for almost 8-years, I just keep wondering,

“What if our friendship fucks up because of housing issues?  Is this really a risk that I want to take?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cho permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:08 AM

    yah…i don’t find out about my grad rez until…july/aug
    -_-

  2. michelletytong permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:53 PM

    how do you manage to make a housing dilemma interesting to read? thanks for that!

    you know, I hear the public transportation at Awesome University is equally awesome, so even living further should be awesome.

    cheers.

Trackbacks

  1. How to be a smart student shopper… « @higherlearning

Leave a Reply

